Obsessed Auntie

Why I Am An Obsessed Auntie

For a good long while, I was fine with the fact of being alone and not really opening my heart to love. To be honest, I would say things like, “I hate everyone,” or “I have no feelings,” because it was funny and the reactions of others would tickle me. Also, somewhere deep inside, I honestly believed it. Then in 2015, a tiny butthead was born and instantly changed everything.

There’s something wonderful about being an auntie (and for you fellas, an uncle): you are always entertaining; you spoil your nephews or nieces; and when you grow tired, you can send them home so you can put on your yoga pants and binge watch Netflix. Because, you must be comfortable if you want to get through both seasons of Narcos.

I absolutely adore my nephew: I look at him and see this tiny, perfect human. A person that is not jaded by the crappiness of the world. They just run around being happy and want you to do the same. They get you to dig and find your inner child, and remember what it was like before life hit you over the head with a cast-iron frying pan.

You may ask: why am I an obsessed auntie? First, I want him to have the best; this may be the reason why I buy him stuff randomly and why I am entertained to see him giggle at me making a funny voice for the trashcan. Being an obsessed auntie is not only about giving him stuff and making sure he has fun when he’s around me. I am obsessed about him and the world he is slowly integrating himself into.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want the world to be a better place for him.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to be given all the chances to live a great, long life.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want to show him that a small act of kindness goes a long way.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to understand that taking the high road is difficult, but not impassable.

I am an obsessed auntie because because I want to know to always try your best.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to know that working hard will net positive results.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to follow his dreams, no matter where they lead.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to navigate this life knowing I always will have his back.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to know I will protect him from anyone that causes him harm.

I am an obsessed auntie because I want him to go explore the world and taste all of life.

auntie
Obsessed Auntie Starter Pack…just kidding, but I do own that shirt
Being an obsessed auntie is not just hovering over him and buying him things. It is making sure he learns the life lessons needed to survive on this blue marble spinning in space. I am obsessed because I want him to do the same for his nieces and nephews.

Be obsessed to the little ones in your life. They will carry all they learn from you into the next generation.

To the tiny butthead that crumbled my walls: thanks, jerk. I love you.

MDW

Cover and article image property of: https://www.etsy.com/listing/386490072/the-original-obsessed-auntie-tshirt-aunt

Leave a Reply

